Getting up in the morning

In Meditations by Marcus Aurelius.

Do you some times have trouble getting up in the morning? What is it that will get you to get out of bed at the crack of dawn?

Marcus Aurelius offers a Stoic idea of why we should get up in the morning.
“I am getting up for man’s work. Do I still resent it, If I am going to do what I was born for, the process for which I was brought into the world?Or was I created to wrap myself in blankets and keep warm?” “But this is more pleasant”. Where you then born for pleasure? All for feeling – not for action? Can you not see the plants, birds and ants, spiders, bees all doing there work, each helping their way to order of the world? And then you do not want to do the work of a human being – you do not hurry to the demands of your own nature. ‘One needs rest to’. One does indteed: I agree. But nature has set limits to this too, just as it has to eating and drinking, yet you go beyond these limits, beyond what you need. Not in your actions, not any longer: here you stay below your capability”

(This is from Martin Hammond’s translation)

Leave a Reply

